parentingcfs

Navigating adolescent CFS

Florinef vs licorice root March 6, 2013

Hmmm, you may have noticed a lack of posts recently. I have started studying some human physiology on line and I am so busy remembering terms like adrenergic synapses and equilibrium potential that my head is reeling and my time a little more limited. However here I am to update you on where we’re at.

Firstly, school. Just too exhausting and no fun anymore. The school has been fantastic as always and happy to go along with whatever our girl wants. It’s impossible to explain the difference this makes to our stress levels. I am so grateful as I hear some awful stories about lawyers having to get involved in the US. Anyhow, our girl is going to try Distance Education Maths. It will hopefully give her some sense of progress as there are so few other ways for her to mark the passing of time these days.

Secondly, medication and supplements. Last Friday, on the recommendation of our highly qualified naturopath, we began an attempt to remove Florinef from our girls medications in the hope that the licorice root she is on will give her enough support to counteract the Florinef lack. I have come to believe that licorice root has other properties..particularly related to gut health…that make it a very important supplement for our girl and it’s inadvisable for her to be on both Florinef and licorice root.

I would say we are seeing a negative impact already, with increased fatigue and sense of unwellness, some headaches and stomachaches. I remember when she began Florinef she responded to it positively very quickly and I think her body is now responding to its’ gradual withdrawal equally quickly. I am in contact with our naturopath and we have another appointment next week. The doctor who prescribes the Florinef and Midodrine that our girl is on is aware of our decision and told me that he prefers Florinef but when it doesn’t work for people he suggests licorice root.

The cranial osteopath we have been seeing has been getting some terrific results with our girl, increased energy and sense of wellbeing (Though not enough to get her back to school- yet). I’m sure it’s the movement of all the body fluids but that’s a very lay opinion! So we’ve been on an upwards path and now we’ve thrown this in the mix. Ho hum.

I will try to post again soon to let you know how we go.  If we need to go back to the Florinef we will. I’m not going to go into a discussion of the different chemical actions of Florinef and licorice root as I am certainly not qualified but rest assured this is not a decision that has been taken lightly!

Which reminds me I saw a great T shirt the other day that advised  “Live lightly, think deeply.” Nice. Even nicer was our daughter’s choice of t shirt on a shopping trip a few weeks ago. It reads “My life story will be a good one.” She says it’s empowering. She’s awesome.

May today be a good day with you.

 

2 Responses to “Florinef vs licorice root”

  1. Elaine Says:

    I sympathise with the reeling head – I feel like that anyway with alll this! I hope H soon adjusts to the Florinef withdrawal. My son isnt ready to go on licorice root yet – but we plan to try it when he is stronger. Love the T-shirt story sounds like she has a great attitude

    • parentingcfs Says:

      Thanks Elaine. Yes my head reels with just the illness stuff too….I’m hoping that after I shoved this 12 week course in (goodness knows where!) the rest of it will make more sense! I think my girl is already adjusting to less Florinef and starting to pick up again. Fingers crossed. Thanks for commenting! Hope you enjoy the post I’m about to write!


Leave a Reply

